01.13 Approved Minutes

Resource-Efficient Building Task Force MEETING

  Minutes January 13, 2010


Appointed Members:            

Danielle Dowers



Spencer Gosch



Janet Ng



Gary Hoy



Amir Koleini



Roberto Lombardi



Mark Palmer

SF Environment


Wendy Proctor

SF Port


Raphael Sperry

Public member


Rick Thall

Recreation and Parks


Clifton Wong




A quorum of appointed task force members was present at the meeting.


In addition, there were City Department attendees from DPW/BOA, City Planning, SFPUC Power Enterprise, Friends of SFPL, SFRA, California Academy of Sciences, SF Arts Commission, SFDPH, SF Port and SF Environment.  Other attendees represented: GB Engineers, Rebuild Consulting, URS/Simon JV, Gensler, Literacy for Environmental Justice, and Kwan Henmi.

Agenda Items

1.       Minutes:  Task Force Meeting Minutes of October 14, 2009 were approved as written.  The November and December 2009 meetings were cancelled.

2.       Announcements:  Mark Palmer distributed the San Francisco Municipal Green Building Announcements for January 13, 2010.

3.       Presentation: Cole Roberts and Engin Ayaz of Arup presented ARUP’s protocol for energy design leading to zero energy buildings in order of priority:

·         build less, build smaller

·         build near transit

·         reduce energy loads

·         employ passive energy strategies

·         employ heat recovery

·         add renewable energy systems

·         purchase offsets

4.       Policy Development: None

5.       Old Business:  None

6.       New Business:  None

7.      Public Comment: None