05.12 Approved Minutes

Resource-Efficient Building Task Force MEETING

 Minutes May 12, 2010


Appointed Members:            

Amir Koleini

SF International Airport


Clifton Wong

SF Municipal Transportation Agency


Danielle Dowers

SF Public Utilities Commission


Gary Hoy

SF DPW/Bureau of Architecture


Janet Ng

SF DPW/Bureau of Construction Management


Mark Palmer

SF Environment


Mohsin Shaikh

SF Department of Building Inspection


Raphael Sperry

Public Member


Rick Thall

SF Recreation and Park


Roberto Lombardi

SF Public Libraries


Wendy Proctor

SF Port



A quorum of appointed task force members was present at the meeting.


In addition, there were City Department attendees from SFDPH, Real Estate and SFE. Davis Langdon, Inc. was also represented.

Agenda Items:


1.       Minutes:  Task Force Meeting Minutes of April 14, 2010 were approved as written.

2.       Announcements:  Mark Palmer introduced Mohsin Shaikh, the newly appointed Task Force member from DBI.  Moshin is a LEED Accredited Professional.  Mohsin replaces Spencer Gosch who served as the DBI representative since 2006.  MP distributed the San Francisco Municipal Green Building Announcements for May 12, 2010.

3.      Policy Development: The Task Force reviewed and commented on the report in progress comparing the California Green Building Code (CalGreen) with LEED BD+C 2009.  CalGreen becomes effective on Jan. 1, 2011.  DBI and SFE are now considering how CalGreen will be adopted in light of existing local green building requirements—both Chapter 13C of the Building Code (private sector) and Chapter 7 of the Environment Code (municipal).  Subsequent iterations of the comparison report will be focused on residential green building codes.  Cyndy Scully of DPH has submitted proposed language for the IEQ section of the Chapter 7 amendment that will be reviewed at the next meeting.    

4.       Old Business:  None.

5.       New Business:  None.

6.      Public Comment: None.